food & drink

mango mirror mousse cake

So, I have been in the Bay Area since last Saturday, helping my sister get settled into her new dorm. Before leaving for the Bay Area last week, I was busy— not packing, but making cakes. I really wanted to try making the molded mousse cakes, but didn’t have any cake molds or rings so I had not bothered before. But one blogger said that she used wax paper folded and taped into cylinders to make her triple chocolate mousse cake. I tried it as well, but have to say that next time I would definitely use a steel cake ring. The beauty of perfectly round and parallel layers is spoilt because of the flimsy wax paper cylinder.

Taste-wise, it was very nice. Mango Mirror had a bit more of a sour-y side of the fruit, while the mousse was more creamy, sweet and delicate. The sponge cake wasn’t too sweet and gave the entire cake substance and a foundation texture-wise. Yum 🙂

I didn’t get any other photos because when I woke up the next day, they. were. all. gone.

!

Standard

5 thoughts on “mango mirror mousse cake

Leave a Reply

