food & drink

mint mojito iced coffee

It’s been almost a year since I left the Bay Area, and one of the things I miss the most is food. I miss my friends too, I promise. Philz Coffee has a delightful mint mojito iced coffee concoction, but I never really liked Philz because it was a bit too strong and the coffee always left a strange film-y feeling over my teeth. Am I the only one with this problem?

However, the combination of mint and coffee is very refreshing, and makes even filter-brewed coffee a multi-dimensional experience. There is a hint of lightness from the mint leaves that add to the dark and earthy coffee flavors.

Although there are various methods, I prefer this mint + coffee beans filtering method because the mint is not too over-powering. I did add mint leaves to the final drink for aesthetic appeal, but a note of caution: mint leaves floating into your mouth whilst you’re trying to drink coffee is a bit disturbing. It’s the texture, I think.

Mint Mojito Iced Coffee

serves 4

Ingredients

6 cups water
3-4 tbs ground coffee (or according to one’s own preferred coffee bean to water ratio)
1 cup mint leaves

Directions

In a conventional filter drip coffee-maker, place the mint leaves on top of the ground coffee beans.

Turn on coffee-maker to make coffee as usual.

Let cool and add some left over mint leaves for extra flavor and color if desired.

Add ice cubes and serve.

Standard

3 thoughts on “mint mojito iced coffee

Leave a Reply

