food & drink, musings

my home, the farmstead

I come back from England and our Southern Californian suburban home has been officially transformed into a farm. This change has been happening slowly since about five to eight years ago, but it has now reached a “cottage-shed industry” level. We rarely need to go to the supermarket anymore, since everything we could possibly need grows or lives in our backyard. Amongst the numerous fruit trees and leafy greens, we have eggs from our chickens, potatoes, a growing herb garden, and ย the sweetest strawberries I’ve ever put in my mouth.

Jokingly I said to my mom that all we need now is a rice field. I think she’s considering it in earnest. I fear for the water-bill.

Freshly-laid.

We compete with the snails and slugs for these strawberries. Perhaps next time, grow the strawberries from hanging pots?

In the foreground, one of our Gen1 hen, a Rhode Island Red. In the background, the small yellow chicken, a New Hampshire Red, can be see running away from the big red bully.

Red and yellow potatoes culled from one of our vegetable garden plots. They were sweet, soft, and amazingly delicious. Although Walmart is the suburban version of the “Happiest Place on Earth”, (Cf, “1000 Fun Things to do at Walmart), and I love supermarkets and farmers markets, home-grown is definitely amazing.

Standard

4 thoughts on “my home, the farmstead

  1. Jennifer says:

    I think it’s great that you guys are living off the land. ๐Ÿ˜€ I imagine it would be a lot of work, but I’d like to do the same one day.

    LOL, a rice field! Let us know how it goes. ๐Ÿ˜›

Leave a Reply

